Chesterfield Jewelers Logo



Responsive Template's graphic header image

Bridal Education

The 4 C’s of Diamonds and Beyond

If you’re in the process of choosing engagement rings, Chesterfield Jewelers experts will tell you to learn a little before you shop.

While every diamond is unique they share certain features that allow us to compare and evaluate them. Often referred to as the 4 C’s of diamonds, these comparison points are:


  • Carat weight: One carat equals 0.2 grams. For diamonds under a carat, each carat is divided into 100 points. (i.e. 0.75ct. = 75 points and 1/2 ct. = 50 points)


  • Clarity: The GIA Clarity Scale, which includes eleven clarity grades ranging from Flawless to I3, measures internal inclusions and external blemishes.


  • Color: The GIA Color Scale extends from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown). Each letter grade represents a range of color and is a measure of the degree of color within the diamond, all measured by comparing the diamond to a set of master stones.


  • Cut:  A polished diamond's proportions affect the performance and interplay of light. Brightness is the combination of all white light reflecting from both the surface and interior of a diamond. Fire describes the color flashes that can be seen in a diamond. Scintillation is the sparkle of light you see and the overall pattern of bright and dark areas when you look at a diamond face-up. The design and craftsmanship of a diamond also affect its cut quality, and these factors are considered in determining a diamond's GIA Excellent-to-Poor Cut Grade.


The Diamond Buyer's Guide on this web site is courtesy of

Chesterfield Jewelers
17037 Baxter Rd
Chesterfield, MO 63005


Business Hours
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am to 4:00 pm or by Appointment at 636-346-2587.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Contact Us
For inquires or to schedule an appointment, contact us today.